Information and Session Rules to Consider

Ratification of Disaffiliation Agreements from the Board of Trustees at the

May 13, 2023 Special Session of the Arkansas Conference

I. Information About Today's Special Session of the Arkansas Conference

A. This Special Session of the Arkansas Conference has been called in accordance with ¶603.5 of *The 2016 Book of Discipline of the United Methodist Church* to address only the following issue:

The consideration of ratification of disaffiliation agreements from the Conference Board of Trustees with various congregations of the Arkansas Conference of the United Methodist Church, in accordance with ¶2553 of The 2016 Book of Discipline of the United Methodist Church, the Principles adopted at the 2021 Arkansas Annual Conference Session and Judicial Council Decision 1379.

- B. Members of the Arkansas Conference, with the right to vote, include all:
 - 1. clergy members in full connection;
 - 2. provisional, associate and affiliate clergy members;
 - 3. full and part-time local pastors under appointment;
 - 4. elders or ordained clergy from other denominations serving under appointment within the Arkansas Conference;
 - 5. those lay members or alternates who were last seated at the June, 2022 Annual Conference Session, or laity duly elected by their charge conference if needed to replace a lay member or alternate who is unable to attend because of death, serious illness or cessation of membership, as provided by ¶602.5 of *The 2016 Book of Discipline of the United Methodist Church*;
 - 6. laity who are members of Annual Conference by virtue of The 2016 Book of Discipline or Conference Standing Rules, youth members and those elected at the 2022 District Conferences as lay-clergy equalization at-large members.
- C. Robert's Rules of Order 12th Edition, will be the procedural authority for all business conducted by the Special Session of the Arkansas Conference when not in conflict with Arkansas Conference Session Rules, Arkansas Conference Standing Rules or The 2016 Book of Discipline of the United Methodist Church.
- D. The Conference Board of Trustees, which is responsible for entering into a disaffiliation agreement with a local church board of trustees following certification of that church's vote to disaffiliate, will present the completed disaffiliation agreements to the annual conference for its consideration of ratification. The annual conference will then vote whether to ratify the disaffiliation agreements by a simple majority vote, which may not include any amendments (JCD 1420).

- E. In accordance with ¶603.6 of The 2016 Book of Discipline, Bishop Max Whitfield is present at today's session to preside in the event that Bishop Merrill is unable to do so.
- F. Our Head Teller is Dee Harper. Other tellers are Michael Bolin, Virginia Brown, Denni Palmer, Allen Crum, Deanna McCormack, Teresa Bolin, Terry Chapman, Carl Palmer, Paul Weeks, Taylor Loy, Tom Mullins, Kim Mullins.

II. Session Rules of Order - Vote Required

- A. The Session Rules of the Special Session of the Arkansas Conference will be those adopted at the opening Business Session of the May 13, 2023 Special Session of the Arkansas Annual Conference.
- B. The agenda as adopted will be used.
- C. The bar of the Special Session will be set by the conference secretary.
- D. The process for the consideration of ratification of the Disaffiliation Agreements presented by the Conference Board of Trustees will be as follows:
 - 1. All completed Disaffiliation Agreements will be presented by the Conference Board of Trustees for consideration as a whole.
 - 2. All debate will be limited to three (3) two-minute speeches in favor of a motion and three (3) two-minute speeches against. This excludes persons inquiring about points of order or asking questions of clarification.
 - 3. The presentation of the recommendation will not be considered a speech in favor. The presenter of the motion may offer a one minute concluding remark at the end of debate before the matter is put to a vote.
 - 4. The ratification vote will take place at the conclusion of debate.
 - 5. The following individuals providing technical support and assistance are granted permission to be inside the bar of the conference: Danielle Adkisson, Sara Andrews, Wendy Brunson-Daniels, Christina Choh, Day Davis, Palmer Lee, Melissa Sanders, Michael McMurray, Bailey Thomas, Garrett Pritchard, Mona Williams, and Alison Huskey.