General Conference 2019

The Council of Bishops announced the call to a special General Conference on Feb. 23-26, 2019, in St. Louis, Missouri. The special meeting of The United Methodist Church’s top lawmaking assembly will be limited to acting on a report by Council of Bishops, based on the proposals from the Commission on the Way Forward. The 32-member commission, appointed by the bishops, has the charge of finding ways for the denomination to stay together despite deep differences around homosexuality. General Conference, which usually meets every four years, is the only body that can speak for the denomination. As we approach the called session of the 2019 General Conference it is not uncommon for members of the delegation to hear from Arkansas United Methodist. We ask for your prayers at the critical moment in our denomination. Any United Methodist in the Arkansas Conference may reach out to any delegate listed below.

Important Questions About General Conference 2019

With the Special Session of the General Conference less than six months away, there are still many questions surrounding the Commission on a Way Forward and the three plans submitted by the Commission. Bishop Gary Mueller has heard your concerns and put together an informative document to help answer the questions that have been asked most often, as well as explain each of the three plans submitted for a vote at General Conference and what each plan would mean for the future of the United Methodist Church. Click here to read the document.

Delegates

Karon Mann
1806 Martha Drive
Little Rock, AR 72212
karon57@comcast.net

Rev. Mark Norman
PO Box 6607
Pine Bluff, AR 71611
mark.norman@arumc.org

Todd Burris
800 West Daisy Bates Drive
Little Rock, AR 72202
tburris@arumc.org

Rev. Dede Roberts
800 West Daisy Bates Drive
Little Rock, AR 72202
dede.roberts@arumc.org

Karen Millar
33 Country Club Circle
Searcy, AR 72143
karenlmillar@hotmail.com

Rev. Dr. Rebekah Miles
2424 Park Place Circle
Fort Worth, TX 76110
rlmiles@smu.edu

Asa Whitaker, Jr.
160 Ottinger Street
Batesville, AR 72501
asawhitaker333@yahoo.com

Rev. John Miles II
801 South Main Street
Jonesboro, AR 72401
jmiles@fumcjonesboro.org