UM Museum of Arkansas

Hours: Tuesdays from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; other times by appointment (groups welcome)
Location: 723 Center Street, Little Rock, Ark. (inside First UMC)

In the 1870s, Arkansas Methodism was making a concerted effort to collect and preserve its historical materials. Since 1886, four histories have been published detailing the rich history of United Methodism in Arkansas. Preservation concerns led to the formation of the Historical Society of Arkansas, which was incorporated in 1986. The Historical Society gave birth to the conference museum for Arkansas United Methodism in 1994 as an entity of the Historical Society.

On May 5, 1994, the museum opened in its first location at Quapaw Quarter United Methodist Church in Little Rock. From September 2005 to February 2010, it was located at Asbury United Methodist Church in Batesville. Artifacts were stored until this third location was leased by the Arkansas conference trustees from United Methodist Church in Little Rock. January 14, 2012, the United Methodist Museum of the Arkansas Conference re-opened at this current site. Funding for the establishment of this museum at this site was through a generous grant from The United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas.

To share with the museum artifacts of historical value, or to serve as a volunteer tour guide, contact Linda Baker, curator, at  501-680-1089 or ummac.lr@gmail.com. Local churches wishing to invite a speaker to present a program on the museum and the history of Methodism in Arkansas should contact Baker, as well.

To schedule a tour visit for a confirmation class or other study group, call Baker at 501-680-1089.