New Churches

Are you interested in creating new places for new people?    Typically, new church pastors must meet the standards of licensed local pastors or ordained clergy.  There may be unique settings where the district superintendent will ask a lay speaker to initially fill the role of mission pastor. 
Each year the Arkansas Conference Cabinet is asked to identify up to 30 pastors who they perceive to have the leadership gifts and graces for starting new churches.  These pastors will be invited to apply for the New Church Leadership Institute.  This institute has several goals:

Assist in discerning a call to be a church planting pastor Equip leaders with knowledge and skills for successful church starts Prepare pastors for a variety of New Start strategies Introduce some of the most recent printed resources on church planting At the conclusion, each participant will write a self-reflective essay for their District Superintendent On-site visits to half a dozen new church starts Attend the national School of Congregational Development Prepare a pool of pastors for the cabinet to appoint to plant new churches Prepare a pool of pastors to be the second pastor in our new churches Prepare future Senior Pastors to be supportive of becoming a “Mother Church”
Welcome to the New Church Leadership Institute
Starting new United Methodist Churches to make new disciples of Jesus Christ is our central mission. Equipping leaders with both knowledge and skills to move toward sucessful new church starts.   New Church Handbook

Click here for the New Church Handbook.
Events for 2014:   April 2-4, 2014: New Church Boot Camp, Northern Illinois, contact Martin Lee, mlee@UMCNIC.ORG April 5-6, 2014: More Members Event by Griffith, Northern Illinois, contact Martin Lee, mlee@UMCNIC.ORG Boot Camp, Senior Pastor Track, May 5, 2014, Fayetteville, Arkansas register www.mountsequoyah.org Boot Camp Basic Training, May 6-8, 2014, Fayetteville, Arkansas register at www.mountsequoyah.org Boot Camp, Senior Pastor Track, August 18-19, 2014, Dallas, Texas register at www.mountsequoyah.org Boot Camp Basic Training, August, 19-21, 2014, Dallas, Texas New Church Leadership Institute, Oct. 13-16, 2014, Fayetteville, Arkansas, register at www.mountsequoyah.org Assessment 2.0: Taking Assessments to the Next Level, Oct. 15-16, Fayetteville, Arkansas, register at www.mountsequoyah.org How to Get More Members, by Griffith, November 15-16, 2014, Chicago, Illinois, contact Martin Lee, mlee@UMCNIC.ORG
Contacts:

Arkansas Conference
Bob Crossman Minister of New Church Starts & Congregational Development 501.324.8012 877.646.1816 (Toll-free) bcrossman@arumc.org   Nebraska Conference   Dr. Carol Roettmer Brewer 402.464.5994, ex. 111 crbrewer@umcneb.org Oklahoma Indian Missionary Conference   David Wilson 405.632.2006 dwilson@oimc.org Central Texas Conference   Gary Lindley 817.877.5222 garylindley@ctcumc.org New Mexico Conference   Rev. Randall W. Partin 575.522.8220 randall_partin@hotmail.com rev@uumclascruces.org Rio Grande Conference   Abel Vega 210.408.4512 avega@umcswtx.org Kansas West & Kansas East Conference

Kent M. Melcher 785.272.9111 kmelcher@kansaseast.org North Texas Conference   Jim Ozier 972.526.5000 ozier@ntcumc.org Southwest Texas Conference   Rev. Dr. Ruben Saenz, Jr 210.408.4508 rsaenz@umcswtx.org Louisiana Conference   Rob Weber 225.346.1646 robweber@aol.com Northwest Texas Conference   Jimmy Nunn 806.762.0201 nunn@nwtxconf.org Texas Conference   Don Waddleton 713.521.9383 ext:335 dwaddleton@txcumc.org Missouri Conference   Bob Farr 573.441.1770 BFarr@moumethodist.org Oklahoma Conference   B. Craig Stinson 405.530.2020 cstinson@okumc.org