Arkansas students heading to UM colleges as 2016 Dollars for Scholars recipients

The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation recently named 40 Arkansas students as recipients of the Dollars for Scholars scholarship. For each recipient, the students’ local church gives $1,000, and the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation matches that contribution. Then the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas (UMFA) gives $1,000, and the student’s selected college contributes $1,000 for a significant $4,000 award.

“We are proud to announce that a total of $40,000 in grants will be presented from UMFA to Arkansas students attending United Methodist colleges and universities during the 2016-2017 school year,” said Jim Argue Jr., president of the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas.

Attending Centenary College is Alexander M. Shannon of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock; and attending Dillard University is Kayla M. Vann of Wesley Chapel UMC Little Rock.

Hendrix College students receiving the scholarships include Ethny M. Ashcraft of Lakeside UMC Pine Bluff; Aubrey N. Brink of Sequoyah UMC Fayetteville; Samuel E. Byrd of First UMC Malvern; Christopher A. Carver of First UMC Blytheville; Christina G. Choh of Hope Korean First UMC Jacksonville; Samuel M. Coker of First UMC Conway; Andrew D. Fleming of Grand Avenue UMC Hot Springs; Ava Z. Graves of First UMC Bryant; Liam R. Hankins-Hull of First UMC Little Rock; Caitlyn B. Hendrickson of First UMC Little Rock; Chad E. Hornsby of First UMC Brinkley; Harper L. Purifoy of First UMC Malvern; Daniel K. Reece of First UMC West Memphis; Faith Reynolds of Grace UMC Hensley; Michala J. Roberts of First UMC Conway; Victoria L. Spradley of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock; Douglas A. Tiler of Central UMC Fayetteville; Delaney G. Wells of First UMC Charleston; and Margaret A. Young of Lakeside UMC Pine Bluff.

Scholarship recipients studying at Oklahoma City University are Anna G. Estes of St. Paul UMC Little Rock; Addison G. Griffin of Highland Valley UMC Little Rock; and Emily L. Wollenberg of First UMC Clarksville.

Philander Smith College scholarship recipients include Christopher D. Beasley, Jalan J. D. Caffey, Lorenzo C. Collins, Aaron Davis, Nicole L. Fulton, Anthony S. Harris, Kyra T. Jones, Titus N. Manning, Deviontae T. Martin, Benjamin C. Mason, Christopher C. Rowland and Jalon S. Warren, all of Wesley Chapel UMC, Little Rock.

Andrea’ L. Cummings of Wesley Chapel UMC Little Rock will attend Candler School of Theology; Taylor W. Loy of Central UMC Fayetteville will attend Duke Divinity School; Laura J. Prange of First UMC Dewitt will attend Iliff School of Theology; and Dominique A. Rutledge of Wesley Chapel UMC Little Rock will attend Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary.

The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation is dedicated to helping students achieve their dreams by providing scholarship aid for United Methodist students attending 122 United Methodist-related institutions. UMFA is one of the largest United Methodist Foundations in the country, and is responsible for over 750 funds that have combined assets in excess of $130 million.