Record number of Arkansas students named 2015 Dollars for Scholars recipients

The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation recently named 41 Arkansas students as recipients of Dollars for Scholars scholarship awards. These awards go to students attending United Methodist-related institutions.

For each recipient, the students’ local churches give $1,000, and the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation matches that contribution. Then the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas gives $1,000, and the student’s selected college contributes $1,000 for a significant $4,000 award.

“More Arkansas students than ever before received Dollars for Scholars awards this year,” said Jim Argue Jr., president of the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas, in a May 13 news release. “We are proud to announce that a total of $41,000 in grants will be presented from UMFA to Arkansas students who will attend United Methodist colleges and universities.”

Hendrix College students receiving the scholarships include Katherine Q. Emery of First UMC Batesville; Ava Z. Graves and Steven R. Ragsdale of First UMC Bryant; Madeline J. McDonald and Malachi J. McDonald of Grace UMC Conway; Samuel M. Coker and Michala J. Roberts of First UMC Conway; Emmett A. Hill of First UMC Hot Springs; Andrew D. Fleming of Grand Avenue UMC Hot Springs; Hannah E. Shelton of Asbury UMC Little Rock; Liam R. Hankins-Hull, Caitlyn B. Hendrickson and Michael R. McMurray of First UMC Little Rock; Jonathan T. Spradley and Victoria L. Spradley of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock; Lance A. Dunbar of St. James UMC Little Rock; Ethny M. Ashcraft and Margaret A. Young of Lakeside UMC Pine Bluff; and Daniel K. Reece of First UMC West Memphis.

Philander Smith College scholarship recipients include Arthur Bright, Adonika S. Bullard, Kishon Delancy, Tierra A. Holland, Toria A. Holland, Trevor A. Ivy, Julius C. Keith, Titus N. Manning, Kaelin K. McNeal, Candace L. Parchman, Kingsley G. Pinder, Carvon Smith, Shaborn Vail, Jordan A. Walker, Sara I. Walker and Chet R. Young, all of Wesley Chapel UMC Little Rock.

Recipients attending United Methodist colleges outside of Arkansas are Lawrence E. Knox of First UMC Fort Smith, attending Boston University; and Alexander M. Shannon of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock, attending Centenary College in Shreveport, La.

Seminary students receiving Dollars for Scholars awards include Taylor W. Loy of Central UMC Fayetteville, attending Duke Divinity School in Durham, N.C.; Laura Jo Prange of First UMC Dewitt, attending Iliff School of Theology in Denver; Deena M. Hamilton of St. Andrew UMC Little Rock, attending SMU Perkins School of Theology in Dallas; and Ronald J. Pressgrove of St. Luke UMC Little Rock, attending United Theological Seminary in Dayton, Ohio.

The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation is dedicated to helping students achieve their dreams by providing scholarship aid for United Methodist students attending United Methodist-related institutions. UMFA, one of the largest United Methodist foundations in the country, is responsible for more than 750 funds with combined assets in excess of $135 million.