People of Faith: June 6, 2014

Students complete Arkansas Course of Study School
Three students completed coursework recently through the Arkansas Course of Study School, an extension school of SMU’s Perkins School of Theology. 
Pictured, from left, are Kathy DeBusk, who serves as a part-time local pastor for Rose Bud UMC; Dave Caswell, who serves Quitman UMC as a part-time local pastor; and Sue Welborn, who serves in the Missouri Conference.
Approximately 60 students currently participate in the Course of Study School, which offers classes each semester at Hendrix College in Conway. To complete the school, students must pass 20 classes. If a student takes all of the classes at Hendrix and never misses a semester, it takes 10 years to complete the school. Students also may take classes online or at other schools to count toward the coursework.
35 Arkansas students attending UM schools named 2014 Dollars for Scholars recipients
The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation recently named 35 Arkansas students as recipients of Dollars for Scholars scholarship awards. For each recipient, the students’ local churches give $1,000 and the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation matches that contribution. Then, the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas (UMFA) gives $1,000 and the student’s selected school contributes $1,000 for a significant $4,000 award.
“More Arkansas students than ever before received Dollars for Scholars awards this year,” said Jim Argue Jr., president of UMFA. “We are pleased make a total of $35,000 in grants to Arkansas students who will attend United Methodist colleges and universities.”
Hendrix College students receiving the scholarships include Blaine K. Sadler of First UMC Benton; Steven R. Ragsdale of First UMC Bryant; Michala J. Roberts of First UMC Conway; William B. Lovvorn and Collin M. Moore of Grace Community UMC Fort Smith; Malachi J. McDonald of First UMC Jacksonville; Liam R. Hankins-Hull, Michael R. McMurray and Caitlyn B. Hendrickson of First UMC Little Rock; Jonathan T. Spradley, Thomas P. Spradley and Victoria L. Spradley of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock; Rebecca R. Meredith and Lance Sanders Dunbar of St. James UMC Little Rock; Megan L. Steely of Trinity UMC Little Rock; and Ethny M. Ashcraft of Lakeside UMC Pine Bluff.
Philander Smith College scholarship recipients include Kayla A. Baker, Jonathan S. Barker, Joshua Dumas, Trevor A. Ivy, Kaelin K. McNeal, Candace L. Parchman and Tasha D. Washington, all of Wesley Chapel UMC Little Rock.
In addition, Lawrence E. Knox of First UMC Fort Smith will attend Boston University; Alexander M. Shannon of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock will attend Centenary College in Shreveport, La.; Archer W. Tribett of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock will attend Central Methodist University in Fayette, Mo.; Madelyn R. Bagwell of Central UMC Fayetteville will attend High Point University in High Point, N.C.; and Natalie E. Clark of First UMC Conway will attend Wofford College in Spartanburg, S.C.
Seminary students receiving Dollars for Scholars awards are Corey A. Tyson of First UMC Jacksonville, attending Duke Divinity School in Durham, N.C.; Kathryn E. Dunn of Pulaski Heights UMC Little Rock, attending Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary in Evanston, Ill.; Andrew J. Smith of St. Paul UMC Little Rock and Myron E. Rhodes of First UMC Maumelle attending SMU Perkins School of Theology in Dallas, Texas; Marcia A. Grassel of First UMC Eureka Springs and Laura Jo Prange of First UMC Dewitt, attending Saint Paul School of Theology in Overland Park, Kan.; and Christopher P. Gillespie of Cornerstone UMC Jonesboro, attending United Theological Seminary in Dayton, Ohio.
The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation is dedicated to helping students achieve their dreams by providing scholarship aid for United Methodist students attending 122 United Methodist-related institutions. UMFA is one of the largest United Methodist Foundations in the country. Founded in 1963, UMFA is responsible for more than 650 funds with combined assets in excess of $130 million.
Borg, Clark, Wright named to board of Methodist Family Health Foundation
Three new members have joined the Methodist Family Health Foundation board of directors: Laura Borg of Little Rock, the Rev. J. Wayne Clark of Conway and Tara Wright of Fayetteville. 
Borg has a background in financial management and accounting and is a member of Trinity United Methodist Church, Little Rock.
Wayne ClarkClark is chaplain and adjunct professor at Hendrix College and a clergy member of the Arkansas Annual Conference.
Wright is a homemaker, speech-language pathologist and community volunteer. She is a member of Central UMC Fayetteville.
Tara WrightThe Methodist Family Health Foundation exists to support the work of Methodist Family Health, a 115-year-old nonprofit that provides psychiatric and behavioral healthcare to children and families in Arkansas.