Steel-Hendrix Awards to honor Beal, Matthews, Schrick

Brueggeman lecture follows March 20 banquet

The 2013 Steel-Hendrix Awards will be presented Thursday, March 20, 2014, at a banquet held in Worsham Performance Hall in the Hendrix College Student Life and Technology Center. 

The banquet begins at 5:30 p.m. and will honor three award recipients: Mauzel Beal, the Rev. Ed Matthews and Zach Schrick. 

Beal served as an Arkansas United Methodist archivist for more than 20 years, and also as president of Church Women United, president of North Arkansas Conference Ministers’ Wives and District Wives organizations, and a volunteer, leader and member of many other committees and organizations.
She will receive the Mary and Ida Brumley Award for Religious Education, which honors those who have provided distinguished service in the field of religious education. The award celebrates the legacy of Mary and Ida Brumley, long-time Christian education leaders in the North Arkansas Conference of the United Methodist Church. 

Matthews retired in 1998 as the senior pastor of First United Methodist Church Little Rock, and has since been an interim pastor at First UMC Jacksonville, Horseshoe Bend and Mountain View. In addition to his numerous volunteer activities and church leadership, he has consulted with Methodist Family Health and the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas. 

He is the recipient of this year’s Ethel K. Millar Award for Religion and Social Awareness. The award recognizes persons whose lives have been distinguished by a passion for social justice and a commitment to the general welfare of all people.  The award is given in memory of Ethel K. Millar, a long-time Hendrix College librarian whose passion for peace, commitment to a variety of social organizations and work as a role model inspired Hendrix students to devote their lives to the pursuit of the highest ideals of peace and justice.

Schrick is the director of youth and young adult ministries at First UMC Magnolia, and serves on the Arkansas Conference Council on Youth Ministries and the Conference Council on Young Adult Ministries. The award he will receive, Youth Minister of the Year, was created in 2003 to honor individuals who have been outstanding in their service to young people through the United Methodist Church in Arkansas. 

Tickets for the banquet are $20 if payment is received by March 12; the price increases to $25 after March 12. For more information or to register, contact the Rev. Wayne Clark, Hendrix College chaplain, at or 501-450-1263. 

Following the banquet, Dr. Walter Brueggeman will give a lecture that is free and open to the public. Brueggeman is the William Marcellus McPheeters professor emeritus of Old Testament at Columbia Theological Seminary and author of more than 100 books, including The Prophetic Imagination, Message of the Psalms and Truth Speaks to Power.

Founded in 1876, Hendrix College in Conway, Ark., is a national leader in engaged liberal arts and sciences education. It has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884.